Huion Kamvas 190 HD Review

 

“In all of this, I would say that if you can’t afford a Cintiq yet,

I would definitely recommend Huion.”

 

After having a CDR King Graphic tablet, Then a Wacom Bamboo, and later a Wacom Intous comic. I really wished I could have a Cintq(a monitor tablet, also from Wacom), but I can’t afford it yet.

 

To my surprise, I found Huion, an alternative brand for a monitor tablet.

Six months ago, I bought my GT 190 and it was delivered very quickly. Upon delivery, the package was secluded by wooden boards on both sides to protect the product from possible damaging.

Guys! Let me share you this one cool thing about Huion, along with my purchased product, I also received an extra pen and other stuff too such as stand, screw driver, smudge guards and a ‘thank you’ card. Imagine how sweet they are when dealing with their customers.

I thought of video recording all those moment when receiving my purchased product. I already set-up the video-camera, but to my excitement, I wasn’t able to record it. Oh men! I forgot to click the recording button. Ahaha!

   I was so amazed. Astonishingly, I looked at the monitor tablet, and I suddenly realized that it fits on any artist’s tables. In my case, I still have to convert my table to fit more than one monitor.

Huion pen

20170714_204835.jpg

My first thought upon holding pen was “the pen is ugly” maybe because I was just used to Wacom’s stylus. I felt like the pen is big and bulky and it needs to be power-charged which makes it so hassle. But one good thing is that, it has an extra pen that I can swap with whenever it runs out of power.

Its battery life will last for more than one week which is really good to know.

At first, I lost my interest when I thought that the product was damaged. The pen became unresponsive at times, but I found out that battery power is just running out. So, I decided to charge it. The pen works as usual after being charged.

What I really hate as regards to Huion’s pen is when the nibs gone little loose and made me misplaced my first nib in just a week. I know that the product came with lots of free nibs. But comparing it to my previous experience with Wacom nibs, I don’t usually mislaid even one nib nor changed a nib even after three years.

First, people do usually whine to Huion pens because there’s no eraser within it compared to Wacon stylus. In my case, I didn’t have any problem with it as I don’t frequently use eraser-pen. I’m just using keyboard shortcuts instead. Second, people were also complaining about the express keys that are not found on the tablet. But I don’t mind about their complaints because the keyboard shortcuts suits me better. It would be cool to have express keys. I’m just more concerned about keyboard placement. When I do some adjustments on screen views and when I set my monitor in a comfy angle, I also do adjustments with my keyboard because it’s in the monitor where the cord is connected. This made me realized that I need to buy a wireless keyboard for less hassle. I thought that this would be a great help.

Well, speaking of the cords, the set-up is quite good. But what makes me frustrated is that, there is no HDMI connection which might have been trouble-free if it has one. VGA makes it tricky that you have to arrange all the cords in correct place. The Huion Monitor has three wires that are attached to power, USB and VGA. I don’t know, maybe it’s me who finds it disarrayed but yeah, I just have to deal with it. I just find it hard to assemble everything from my old desk because sometimes, I’m having some comfy-dilemmas. I’m also having trouble in looking for tutorials that would edify me on how to put it in my desk. I might be needing it for my personal preference.

20170415_212553.jpg

    I didn’t have hard time to install the product to my PC because it has instructions booklet that must have to follow. The latest version of the instructions can be downloaded through their site as quick as possible. You must set-up the product first. I’ve seen plenty of product reviews that are full of complaints about the drivers which I oppositely experienced. I didn’t have any problem with the drivers as I used it for six months straight. I learned that you can’t use the Wacom and Huion product at the same time.

Monitor

 

   The monitor is too bright that is quite tough on eyes. I had to buy a special pair of glasses to protect my eyes when staring on the monitor all day. Still the brightness is adjustable. But for me, I just don’t stumble on correct colours. And also, some viewing angles are not consistent. I can’t explain it unerringly, but, when you view it on a certain angle the colors are just off.

20170426_105945.jpg

Color

    I’m also having trouble with the colors. I noticed that my artwork appears differently when I view it in another monitor. The colors are not the same from one another. I contacted the Huion customer care, they actually responded to me quickly. In this case, they advised me to adjust the colors settings. But, still it’s not working after the several adjustments I made with the color setting. I probed myself if I’m working on the right colors. Honestly, it’s a deal breaker. Setting up a dual monitor was not an easy task for me. Though, I have to live with it.

Screen

The screen glass is reflective. I could see my face in the screen while I’m working. LOL.

And so, I worked in the darkroom (like batman) as a solution for this silly problem that I have. Some says that drawing on the glass is not like drawing on paper. I have no problem with that. I find it like usual to draw on the glass. I don’t think it’s an issue. None at all. But what makes me irritated is that when I’m hearing screeches similar to a squeaking sound every time I start to draw. Even my friend had noticed the same instance that there was a slight delay when doing fast strokes, which I think because of the specs and not because of the product itself. I barely experience such delays but, in time, I got used to it and seems to be usual.

One thing I’ve noticed, when I draw, I’m covering some screen portions. This, I wasn’t able to experience before with my old tablets I had. This is when I put my hand on the screen. I was used to it now. Another thing, when I touch the monitor, there are little warm-like spots that are popping on the screen. However, monitor is cooling-down itself and it seems nothing happened.

20170714_204835.jpg

People used to complain about the PARALLAX. Honestly, parallax is in there, maybe because of the thick glass you are working with. There is an adjustment setting for it. So, I don’t have issue on it.

Moreover, I’d been using small pen tablets for about 5 years now. It took a couple of time for me to adjust in shifting onto 19 inch tablet from the small one. It seems like I was sketching in a wide wall than the usual A4 paper-like.

   Also, the kick stand is cool even if it doesn’t have a tilt feature. Though, it can easily be substitute with a ‘rotate’ piece on the drawing applications for free! It has no additional charge. That’s awesome right?!

Finally, in my own perspective which I can quote as the best thing about Huion is the way how they handle customer care. Wherein, they response very quick to the problems and other Huion concerns being outstretched. The same as mine, I’ve raised my own issues and reported my other concerns on Huion product, and they rapidly answered me. The problems were addressed.

If you are thinking twice ‘to buy or not to buy?’ I can only say that

   you should definitely buy one!

If you’re an artist but has less budget, you should really consider investing on this product.

The common dispute on buying a Cintiq is having a low-cost budget. Wacom’s product standard is unbelievably great. Wacom’s products are costly but they give great deal with their cheapest 13 inch monitor price at 800 USD. You can also buy a monitor for 2, 000 USD price which is much expensive than a 19 inch you’ll get for 400USD only. They also provide GT221 for less than a thousand dollar. Anyways, Huion is a good product. However, some people are denying the fact that Wacom is now having some competitors that has same product value but much cheaper. Wacom serves great deals with the product, but somehow, it has some irrefutable circumstances.

In all of this, I may suggest that if you can’t afford to get Cintiq, you can just try the Huion as an alternative brand. I recommended you to crack it, it will give you much lower costs deals.

13.png

Leave a comment